World Sports Legends Award


Monaco, a prestigious venue

The Principality of Monaco has long been a venue of great sporting, artistic and cultural events at an international level.

Of worldwide fame are the Formula 1 Grand Prix, the Tennis Open, the Monaco Classic Week of sailing, the Boxing Championship, the Herculis of Athletics, the Soccer Championships with AS Monaco, the Monte Carlo Rally, the Monaco Jumping, the Golf Tournament and swimming's Mare Nostrum.

Monaco is also the headquarters of the IAAF – International Athletics Federation, the UIM – International Powerboat Union, the ATP and WTA – Professional Tennis Association (Europe), and the International Union of Modern Pentathlon and Biathlon.

Furthermore Monaco's Princely family supports sporting activities with special interest. HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco has always had a passion for sports and has participated at the Olympics 5 times with the Bobsleigh. HSH Princess Charlene has been an international and Olympic swimming champion.

Princess Stephanie’s son, Louis Ducruet, is developing a career in the sport management, his sister, Pauline Ducruet, has participated in competitive diving. Charlotte Casiraghi, Princess Caroline's daughter, takes part in international show jumping competitions and her younger sister Alexandra of Hanover competes in artistic skating events. All of this has led to the Principality being an important crossroads of the sporting world.

The Awards

The prestigious prize, the “World Sports Legends Award" is presented to sporting champions both active and retired, who have distinguished themselves not only in their sporting exploits but also for their example as inspiring role models for the new generations.

The aim is to promote sport’s ethical and moral values as an ideal to motivate people, especially the young, to excel.

The Awarded gain entry to the Pantheon of World Sports Legends by leaving their hand prints.

The special prize “Best Sports Values” is awarded to an athlete who stands out for an exemplary sporting gesture which embodies sport’s ethical and moral values, or to well-known people for their community support through sport.

The “Posthumous Award” is conferred on great champions with legendary careers or to well-known people who operated in the sporting sector.

The "Media Special Prize" will be given to the media that better recounted an exemplary sporting gesture.

The Oscar for the World Sports Legends Award has been created by the international artist, Marcos Marin, which created a sculpture which brings together all the symbolism and values of WSLA. He is also in charge of the Handprints Show.

The Candidates to the Awards are selected by a Committee composed by the WSLA Board and the WSLA Awarded.

The Legends

The Pantheon of World Sports Legends

4th Edition - 2019 World Sports Legends Award, The Oscars of Sports

  • Nasser Al-Attiyah,  Qatar, 3 times Paris-Dakar winner, Olympic medalist of Ball-trip
  • Mario Andretti, United States of America, F1 World Champion, Indycar and Nascar Champion 
  • Loris Capirossi, Italy, 3 times MotoGP World Champion
  • Ana Gabriela Guevara, Mexico, World Champion of 400m, multi Olympic medalist
  • "WSLA Best Sports Values for Community Support":  Connie Henry  for the Track Academy, Great Britain, Athletics 
  • "WSLA Posthumous Award": Ferenc Puskás, Hungary, Football Champion and Legend of the Football world, in the year of the inauguration of the national stadium of his nation named after him. This is also the 10th anniversary of the launch of FIFA Puskás Award, the global prize for the goal of the year. The Award will be received by his grand-daughter Ane De Juan Damborena and the Olympic Champion Pál Schmitt, former president of Hungary.
  • "WSLA Sport and Cinema" : Julius R. Nasso, United States of America, in recognition of his worldwide successful martial arts and action movies with Warner Bros. and for his work in the entertainment sector.


3rd Edition - 2018 World Sports Legends Award, The Oscars of Sports

  • Osvaldo Ardiles, Argentina, Football World Champion
  • Jutta Kleinschmidt, Germany, 1 time winner of the Paris-Dakar. Only woman who has won the Paris-Dakar
  • Freddie Spencer, United States of America, 3 times MotoGP World Champion
  • "WSLA Best Sports Values for Community Support":  Dr Claudio Costa for the Mobile Clinic in MotoGP, Italy, Moto
  • "WSLA Posthumous Award": Ayrton Senna, Brazil, 3 times Formula One world champion. The Award has been received by his niece, Bianca Senna


2nd Edition - 2017 World Sports Legends Award, The Oscars of Sports

  • Michael Doohan, Australia, MotoGP, 5 times World Champion
  • Jacky Ickx, Belgium, 6 times winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, 1-time winner Paris-Dakar, 2 times Vice-World Champion of Formula 1
  • Josefa Idem, Italy, Canoe Racing, Olympic Champion, 5 times World Champion, 8 times European Champion
  • Michèle Mouton, France, 1-time vice-world champion of Rallye, President of the FIA’s Women & Motor Sport Commission, FIA’s Manager in the World Rally Championship, Co-founder of the international motorsport event Race of Champions
  • Armin Zöggeler, Italy, Luge, 2 Times Olympic Champion, 6 times World Champion, 4 times European Champion and 10 world cup


1st Edition - 2016 World Sport Legends Award, The Oscars of Sports

  • Giacomo Agostini, Italy, MotoGP, 15 times World Champion
  • Carl Fogarty, England, Superbike, 4 times World Champion
  • Mika Häkkinen, Finland, Formula 1,  2 times World Champion
  • Tia Hellebaut, Belgium, Athletics, Olympic high-jump gold medal
  • Grandmaster Jhong Uhk Kim, Korea/United States of America, Kung Fu
  • Sir Anthony McCoy, Northern Ireland, horse racing jockey, 20 times Jockey Champion, a record of 289 jump wins in 2001/2002 season and the most jump winners during his career, with 4,358 victories
  • Jean-Marie Pfaff, Belgium, Football, First winner of World's Best Goalkeeper
  • Pernilla Wiberg, Sweden, Alpine Ski Racer, 2 times Olympic gold medals, 4 times World Championships, 1 time World Cup overall title
  • “WSLA Best Sports Values for Community Support”: Victor Tello for the Promotora Mexicana De Valores Deportivos A.C., Mexico
  • “WSLA Posthumous Award”: Antony Noghès, Monaco, for having created the Monaco Grand Prix in 1929, the Rallye Monte-Carlo in 1911, the checkered flag used to end races in 1931. The Prize has been received by Yann-Antony Noghès and Lionel Noghès.

The Event

A unique Showcase at International Level: THE OSCARS OF SPORT

A particular feature for the event created and produced by PromoArt Monte-Carlo Production is that of linking sport with entertainment, art, fashion and glamour, making the World Sports Legends Award Monaco a unique international showcase: the Oscars of Sport.

The event is presented in 5 languages by the international ballet star Lorena Baricalla, Ambassadress and Master of Ceremonies for the Monaco World Sports Legends Award.

As Monte Carlo has always been a venue for the most prestigious red carpets, stars from American cinema, great world sporting champions and VIPs are in special attendance.


Monaco World Sports Legends Award is produced by

26, Avenue de Grande Bretagne - 98000 Monte-Carlo - Principauté de Monaco
tel: 0037793257762 | mob: 00377 (0)6 80863762/ mob: 00377 (0)6 78633942
email: | website: